Return to Headlines

Sleepy Hollow High School Seniors Shine

The school buildings may be closed but the efforts of the Sleepy Hollow High School seniors has continued throughout this pandemic and on, June 18, the district presented a virtual Academic Awards Ceremony that recognized seniors for their academic achievements.

Co-presidents of the Class of 2020 Samantha Livingston and Ella McGovern lead the Pledge of Allegiance to commence the ceremony and then Eliza Mastropieri sang the National Anthem.

“Students, enjoy the feelings of pride there tonight, especially the pride you feel for achieving a goal or a standard that you set for yourself,” said SHHS Principal Dr. Tracy Smith. “We urge you to continue to strive for excellence in every aspect of your life; to feel good about what you do well and the effort you put forth in this pursuit.”

The school community, alumni, members of corporations, private individuals, religious and civic groups have established the scholarships and awards.

The district recognized Valedictorian Sarah Clayton who will be attending Northwestern University and Salutatorian Matthew Silver who is heading to the University of Connecticut. 

Sarah Clayton was also honored as a National Merit Scholarship Finalist and the National Merit Hispanic Recognition was awarded to Andrés Polanco Molina. Commended students are Devin Batheja, Emma Guarnieri, Tess Kaplan and Ryan Schatzel.

The following students received Book Awards: Harvard Book Awards: Maya Weitzen, Yale University Book Award: Zach Rudder; George Washington University Book Award: Sayako Aizeki-Nevins; Lasell University Book Award: Phoebe Katz; Wellesley Book Award: Arya Glenn; Smith Book Award: Caroline Yawman.

School Superintendent Christopher Borsari congratulated the students and recognized them for their academic achievements “It is even more special this year considering the enormous challenges which we have all been presented with...We truly can’t wait to see them in person and offer our sincere congratulations.” 

The chairpersons of each high school department named award recipients who are receiving scholarships in English, Science Math & Computer Science and Social Studies. Students also received awards for Good Citizenship and for representing the Spirit of Sleepy Hollow. Community awards were also presented.

The TUFSD expresses its gratitude to all the benefactors for their generous support of Sleepy Hollow High School.

The entire Academic Awards Ceremony is on our website