Return to Headlines

Middle School Performing Arts Department Awards

Sleepy Hollow Middle School recognized student musicians for their achievements in band, orchestra and chorus.

On May 30, the sixth, seventh, and eighth-graders received pins and ribbons in recognition of their efforts and contributions to the department.

Many awards were presented including recognition for participation, improvement, and spirit.

One student in each category was chosen for overall performance. Band Award: Griffin Neilsen, Chorus: Alex Louis and Orchestra: Cynthia Cai.

Derek Hamilton received the Denise Freisen Award, presented in honor of Denise Freisen, a middle school student who used a wheel chair and showed excellence and the love of music at Sleepy Hollow Middle School.

Congratulations to all the student musicians and many thanks to all the directors: Austin Day, Gail Persad, Brittney Trenczer, and Performing Arts Chair, Micah Sprague.